top of page
  • Writer's pictureJae

CB's Birthday Poem

On this frigid morning, I dreamt about you

Hot juice made an attempt to sling you up

Burnt, bitter tastes lingered on your tongue

So you licked frosting from a bowl


You are the strongest small boy that does not care

Your eyes do not see that I am full now

Don a shredded red cape made from sheets

You can escape hot lava


Oh! All the floors we walked- our hands clenched so tight

You grew fast with longer pants- shorter hair

Look up here! What do you want to be?

Whatever it is, don't be haunted by broken dreams


We stroll on rolling shores with softly held light

You try to keep score of all the points

Skipping through ten million shards of hot glass

You are not the hard old man of my dreams


Right down to the marrow of stiff weary bones

Every year you tear more papery skin

Look under bits of the old broke shell

At unspoken truths told at last


The mirror now sees an old man there

Nearer to anything you need to be

Your eyes are the wisest ones

To watch gulls fly into the sun

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sand In My Teeth - A Poem

Sand in my Teeth The slightest specs of sand Ground down From seashells From coral From sea rocks From boulders Fly off her towel that flaps around In the stiff ocean breeze At the end of a day At the

Loose Threads - A Poem

Loose Ends- A Poem A heavy blanket spreads out on this bed that I made with you. I lay in this bed picking at threads. I watch them unravel as they wind their way out finding the way out; loose ends a

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page